The 2012-2016 Steering Committee was elected at the General Assembly of the Global Forum for Media Development in Makhanda/Grahamstown, South Africa in 2012.

Executive Committee

  • Chairperson: Leon Willems, FreePress Unlimited (Netherlands)

  • Vice-chairperson: A.S. Panneerselvan, Panos South Asia (India)

  • Treasurer: Amie Joof, FAMEDEV (Senegal)

  • Chairman Emeritus: David Hoffman, Internews Network (USA)


  • FAMEDEV (Senegal) - Amie Joof

  • African Media Initiative (South Africa) - Jeanette Minnie

  • Alternate: Media Institute for Southern Africa (Zimbabwe) -

    Luckson Chipare


  • Panos South Asia (India) - A.S. Panneerselvan

  • Indonesian Press Council (Indonesia) - Bambang Harymurti

  • Alternate: Hong Kong University (China) - Ying Chan

Latin America and the Caribbean

  • Fundación Gabriel García Márquez para el Nuevo Periodismo (FNPI) / (now Fundación Gabo) (Colombia) - Jaime Abello Banfi

  • Agencia de Noticias dos Direitos da Infancia (ANDI) (Brazil) - Veet Vivarta

  • Alternate: Association Caribbean Media Workers (Trinidad and Tobago) - Wesley Gibbings


  • Association Independent Broadcasters (Ukraine) - Katerina Myasnykova

  • Albanian Media Institute (Albania) - Remzi Lani

  • Alternate: South East European Network for Professionalization of Media (SEENPM) (Hungary) - Sandor Orban

International Caucus

  • BBC Media Action (United Kingdom) - James Deane

  • International Media Support (Denmark) - Jesper Hojberg

  • International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) (United States) - Joyce Barnathan

  • FreePress Unlimited (Netherlands) - Leon Willems

  • Alternate: Internews (United States) - Jeanne Bourgault

  • Alternate: DW Akademie (Germany) - Patrick Leusch,

Middle East/North Africa

  • GFMD had no active members in this region at the time of the 2012 Global Forum.

Last updated