Find below list of participants who will be taking part in meetings and GFMD General Assembly in-person.

The sessions and breakout discussions around the 2021 GFMD General Assembly were attended by almost 100 participants either in Tirana or online.

27 in-person participants for the General Assembly, Steering Committee, and strategy session (+8 members of the GFMD Secretariat).

43 online participants for the General Assembly, Steering Committee, and strategy session.

26 additional attendees for the session on "Albanian perspectives on media development and journalism support".

In-person participants




Alastair King-Smith

British Ambassador to Albania

UK Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office

Anisa Curaj

Albania Coordinator

Thomson Foundation

Bill Orme

Author, editor, and independent consultant

Author, editor, and independent consultant

David Quin

Development Director

Thomson Foundation

Davor Marko

Balkans Programme Manager

Thomson Foundation

Guy Berger

Director for Strategies and Policies in the Field of Communication and Information


James Deane

Director for Policy and Learning

BBC Media Action

Jan Lublinski

Head of Department, Policy and Learning

DW Akademie

Jesper Højberg

Executive Director

International Media Support (IMS)

Jodie Ginsberg

Chief Executive Director


Lars Tallert

Head of Policy and International Development at Fojo / Sweden's representative to UNESCO's IPDC Intergovernmental Council

Fojo Media Institute

Laurence Burckel

Responsable développement et partenariats - Afrique

Canal France International

Leon Willems

Director for Policy and Programmes

Free Press Unlimited

Marija Ristic

Regional Director

Balkan Investigative Reporting Network (BIRN)

Marvin Hokstam


Association of Caribbean Media Workers

Mary O’Shea

Senior Technical Advisor – Information & Media

International Research & Exchanges Board (IREX)

Milka Domanovic

Head of Business and Partnership

Balkan Investigative Reporting Network - BIRN

Mira Milosevic

Executive Director

Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD)

Nayla Abdelnour

Project Manager

Samir Kassir Foundation/ Skeyes Center for Media and Cultural Freedom

Nona Majidi

Deputy Chief of Party

Balkan Media Assistance Program

Rebecca Stringer

Deputy Head, Global Democracy & Media Freedom Department

Open Societies and Human Rights Directorate | Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

Remzi Lani

Executive Director

Albanian Media Institute

Ricardo Corredor Cure

outgoing GFMD Chairperson

Fundación Gabo

Ruth Kronenburg

Director of Operations

Free Press Unlimited

Susan Abbott

Co-Chair of the Media Development Working Group

International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR)

Tabani Moyo

Acting Regional Director

MISA Zimbabwe

Thierry Vallat

Chairman and Managing Director

Canal France International

In addition to GFMD's Executive Director, Mira Milosevic, the eight members of the GFMD Secretariat attended the General Assembly in person.



Anne Marie Hammer

Programmes and Project Manager

Biba Klomp

International Partnerships Manager

Fiona Nzingo

Membership and Engagement Manager

Ivana Bjelic Vucinic

Programmes and Project Manager

Jordan Higgins

Advocacy and Policy Manager

Klea Trbovic Zivkovic

Financial Manager

Olga Komarova

Communications Manager

Tom Law

Media Policy Advisor

Online only participants

GFMD members and partners that registered/attended via Zoom, included:




Ayman Mhanna

Executive Director

Skyes Centre for Media and Cultural Freedom

Birgitte Jallov


Community Media Forum Europe (CMFE)

Caroline Vuillemin

Director of Operations

Fondation Hirrondelle

Courtney Radsch


Media policy expert

Cristina Zahar

Executive Director


Cyprien Ndikumana


Institute Panos Grands Lacs

Denis Chabrol

Senior Vice President

Association of Caribbean Media Workers (ACM)

Drew Sullivan


Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP)

Ehsan Ahmed Khan Sehar


Rural Media Network Pakistan

Fatemah Farag


Welad Elbalad

Francesca Silvani

Key Expert, Freedom of Expression Technical Assistance to EU Delegations

Media for Democracy (M4D)

Haron Mwangi

Director, Programmes and Resource Mobilization

Panos Institute Great Lakes - IPGL

Ines Drefs


Media Development Assistance in the 21st Century (MEDAS 21)

J.Y. Hoh

Legal Officer

Centre for Law and Democracy (CLD)

Jaime Abello Banfi


Fundación Gabo

Jeanne Bourgault

President and CEO


Jeremy Druker

Executive Director

Transitions Online (TOL)

Joyce Barnathan

Former President

International Center for Journalists (ICFJ)

Kiran Maharaj


Media Institute of the Caribbean

Lars Boering


European Journalism Centre (EJC)

Layla Bahnam

Program Manager

Maharat Foundation

Malcolm Joseph

Executive Director

CEMESP Liberia

Mark Nelson

Former Director

Center for International Media Assistance (CIMA)

Maryam Barre/ Maryan Seylac

Executive Director

Somali Media Women Association (SOMWA)

Mijal Iastrebner



Milica Pesic

Executive Director

Media Diversity Institute

Mogens Schmidt

Senior Advisor on Press Freedom and Media Development

Olumide Ogunlade


Acclaim Nigeria Magazine

Owais Aslam Ali

Executive Director

Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Prue Clarke

Co-founder & Executive Director

New Narratives

Rawan Damen


Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism - ARIJ

Robin Backer


Media Development Collective (MDC)

Roula Mikhael

Executive Director

Maharat Foundation

Sameer Padania

Lead Rapporteur, Sustainability of Journalism

Forum for Information & Democracy / Macroscope London

Sharon Moshavi


International Center for Journalists (ICFJ)

Susan Angle


Media for Democracy

Tihomir Loza

Executive Director

South-East European Network for Profession­alization of Media (SEENPM)

Toby Mendel


Centre for Law and Democracy (CLD)

Vusumuzi Sifile

Executive Director

Panos Institute Southern Africa

Werner Eggert


Interlink Academy for International Dialog and Journalism

Wesley Gibbings

Executive Member

Association of Caribbean Media Workers (ACM)

Yahye Mohamed

Executive Director

Somaliland Journalists Association

Zoe Titus


Namibia Media Trust

Last updated