The 2016-2021 Steering Committee was elected at the General Assembly of the Global Forum for Media Development in Jakarta, Indonesia in September 2016.

Five incumbents were elected to third and final terms. This was provided for by an additional article to the GFMD constitution 2016-2021: 5.12.4

GFMD’s regional caucuses were represented by 14 members.

Executive Committee

  • Chairperson: Ricardo Corredor, Fundación Gabo (Colombia)

  • Secretary-General: Jan Lublinski, DW Akademie (Germany)

  • Treasurer: Thierry Vallat, CFI (France)


  • Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF) (Pakistan) - Owais Aslam Ali, Secretary-General

  • The Indonesian Press Council (Indonesia) - Nezar Patria, chairman of the IPC's international network commission & Digital Editor in Chief at The Jakarta Post


  • Independent Association of Broadcasters (Ukraine) - Kateryna Myasnikova, Executive Director

  • South Eastern European Network for Media Professionalization (SEENPM) (Bosnia and Herzegovina) - Tihomir Loza, Executive Director of the

Latin America

  • Association of Caribbean Media Workers (Guyana) -

    Denis Chabrol, Second Vice President

  • Fundación Gabo (Colombia) - Ricardo Corredor Cure

Middle East/North Africa

  • Samir Kassir Foundation (Lebanon) - Gisèle Khoury, President

  • Palestinian Center for Development and Media Freedoms (MADA)

    (Palestine) - Mousa Rimawi, Co-founder and Director

North America

  • Internews (USA) - Jeanne Bourgault, President and CEO

  • International Research & Exchanges Board (IREX) (USA),

    Michael Mirny, Director of Information and Media Practice

Western Europe

  • DW Akademie (Germany) - Jan Lublinski, Head of Policy and Concepts*

  • French media cooperation agency (CFI) (France) - Thierry Vallat, Chairman and Managing Director**

Sub Saharan Africa

  • Panos Institute West Africa (PIWA) (Senegal) - Diana Senghor, Founder

  • Panos Institute Great Lakes (Burundi) - Cyprian Ndikumana, Director-General

Incumbent members

  • FreePress Unlimited (Netherlands) - Leon Willems, Director for Policy and Programmes

  • International Media Support (IMS) (Denmark) - Jesper Højberg (Denmark), Executive Director

  • BBC Media Action (UK) - James Deane (UK), Director for Policy and Learning

  • International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) (USA) - Joyce Barnathan, President

  • Albanian Media Institute (Albania) - Remzi Lani, Executive Director

Changes to the Steering Committee during the term:

*Alan Dreanic, Deputy Managing Director of the French media cooperation agency (CFI) was replaced by Thierry Vallat CFI's Chairman and Managing Director

**DW Akademie's Head of Policy and Concepts, Jan Lublinski assumed his position during the term of the Steering Committee

Last updated